Getting off the Couch

For me, 2016 has been the year of illness. We are only in the fifth month, but somehow I have already had two serious illnesses, one of which lasted a full month. But finals are over, I’ve successfully moved out of my apartment and into a new one, and now it is time to get off my ass.

Getting off the couch is difficult. Not only does it take effort, but there is also the expectation that you are going to do poorly. If I go for a run today, the neighbors will probably see me leave for my run and then see me come back only ten minutes later and they will know that I am out of shape. The people at the climbing gym will see me working on that V1 and they will think I’m a gumby. These fears can be difficult to get past, but once they are past, they are a good reminder of why it’s important to stay off the couch once you’ve gotten up. I just got back from a run, and if I sit down for too long, my next run will be just as horrible (I ran for .4 miles consecutively, and totaled .9 with walking but not counting my walk home). Now more than ever its important to remember that it will get better.

Last December I met my goal of running a 5k in under 30 minutes. I had been running since October, but I never practiced consistently. Now I am ready to care for my heart’s health and start running again. There is a 5k I want to run in August, and my goal is to run it in under 28 minutes.

So today I let the neighbors see me go out for my 10 minute run, and later the folks at the local climbing gym will watch me struggle. I can only hope those folks will still be my friend, as I’m new in town and in search of new climbing partners.

One thought on “Getting off the Couch

Leave a Reply

