First Hints of Progress

Progress is cool, and I’m finally seeing progress in my running. Sometimes its difficult, because when I look at the graphs regarding my runs, its obvious that my pace has gone down. But then I have to remember that those runs where I went pretty fast were really short. Less than half a mile short. Yesterday I managed to run 1.8 miles with a pace only slightly slower than 10 min/mi. For me that is damn good.

As I’ve been trying to increase my distance I have had a hard time with matching distance and pace. I had always run a bit faster (for me) because in the past I ran with friends and they ran fast, but recently I discovered the shocking fact that if I slow down I can go farther. But now I always run slow! I’m trying hard to start picking up the pace again. I’m also getting far more used to running on my own. I don’t think I had ever run alone until about a month ago, and I was quite anxious about it. I don’t run as fast when I am alone, nor do I run as far. I like having someone there to push me. Now I have to push myself, and that makes me a bit nervous.

My summer goal is to run a 5k in August. I had originally planned to have a goal of finishing in under 28 minutes, but now even my goal of under 30 minutes seems daunting. I haven’t signed up for the race yet because I am afraid to disappoint myself. It would be my first race alone, so I would have to choose my own pace and encourage myself. I’m not sure I’m ready for it, but part of me wants to go ahead and sign up so that I am forced to train, knowing that I have to push harder because I know I can do this. I know I can do it because I have done it before. The only difference is that now I will have to do it alone.

Leave a Reply

