Jujitsu – First day back

Part of the reason I haven’t been writing is because I’ve been busy doing school, applying for jobs, and wallowing in self-pity. The reason being that as soon as I got back into sports, I sprained my shoulder. It wasn’t anything crazy. A white belt had not yet learned that people are fragile. She cried. I felt terrible. But now I’m back!

Coming back from injury is difficult. I’m terrified to work with people I don’t know, and since I’ve been out for a while thats nearly the entire class. Plus I forgot nearly everything. A girl had me in guard and we kind of got stuck there; I couldn’t even remember how to break guard! All I could think of is to shove my elbow in her thigh, but I don’t like to do that. It never really works.

It was a fun class though. We did some fairly simple drilling, I got to roll with an old friend, and I didn’t get hurt. I had missed those guys. Having them there to welcome me back makes the recovery process worth while. I can’t wait to get strong again.

Leave a Reply

