Back again

Yesterday I climbed for the first time since I sprained my shoulder. Talk about a great
feeling. I was nervous because not only was it my first test to see that my shoulder actually healed enough, but also it was one of those weird climbing dates.

halloween2016

My Halloween face

I had met the guy last week at a Halloween party. I had gone as a skeleton, so he saw my face, but not really, and so I was all nervous that he wouldn’t like my face. I have a fairly standard face.

First climb of the day was a 5.8 and it felt like a piece of cake. It was a bit soft for an 8, but I was surprised. My shoulder worked!! After a couple routes on TR we did a little lead climbing. Since I was climbing 5.8s and 5.9s I felt pretty good. But there was this 10 that looked so fun. Unfortunately I have become weak as hell and couldn’t clip a draw under an overhang. The worst part is I was a huge baby about it. I tried a few times, but I just wasn’t strong enough, and I knew I had to fall, but I freaked out a bit first. I wasn’t even that far past my last draw but I hadn’t fallen in forever! Naturally, I fell and it was fine. But then for my next climb I had terrible lead head. I pulled through, not because I wanted to, but because I had to make this guy believe I wasn’t a complete baby.

Needless to say, I don’t think the date part went well, but at least I’m climbing again. I missed it too much. Even inside it felt fantastic. So now I’m back in all my sports! I have gone to jujitsu a couple times, and I ran a mile a few days ago. Shoulder is definitely still super sensitive, but its a good start!

Leave a Reply

