Jingle Bell Run

Yesterday I ran the Jingle Bell Run with one of my favorite friends. The run benefits the Arthritis Foundation, and I was able to raise $430 of my $500 goal. I also finished with a faster time than my last 5k which I ran last spring at around 34 minutes. The results haven’t been posted yet, but I believe my time yesterday was around 32 minutes. It may not sound like a ton of improvement, but it is for me! I sprained my shoulder in early September and this was the first run I have done where my shoulder didn’t hurt. Talk about exciting. I’ve been fighting with shoulder issues for a couple of years now, but yesterday I was able to run a 5k pain free. I am beyond excited about that.

Even better, after we ran this race, we decided to go climb for a bit, and though I wasn’t able to climb very well, my shoulder still didn’t hurt! All that physical therapy finally seems to have paid off. This progress has me hoping to be back to bigger things very soon. I’d love to run my next 5k in under 30 minutes, and be pushing back into climbing 5.10s sooner than later! I know it won’t be easy, but at least I know I can.

 

Update:
Time: 31:58

Leave a Reply

