The Art Thing

Lately I’ve been working pretty hard but also hardly working. I have a lot of goals I’m working towards. I’m trying to improve my climbing, run faster, fight harder, learn Korean, and prepare for my career. Lately I have focused on doing art. I feel weird calling it art, because if its garbage is it still art? It shouldn’t be.

img_1517
When I went to college I took a beginning drawing class that 110% ruined my interest in art. The art looked like garbage because it was always a still life that was literally garbage piled on a table. Then since I changed majors and had a job and all, I was way to busy to have fun. But now I have time, so I started back into the art thing. The end goal is to have an online store set up and sell my work. Which is a huge long shot, but I have almost finished setting up the store part, so I can’t back out now.

The first thing I’ve been working working onhas been this block print of a fish. On the left is the first proof I did of it, so of course it has come a long way since then. I am actually very lazy though, so I think its done, but I haven’t made any prints of it, so I can’t be sure. I ended up getting a bit sidetracked. I was doing all of these proofs towards the end, and I had a bunch of these not finished fish, so I decided to use those to make a painting. Because reduce, reuse, recycle.

fullsizerenderWell that painting came out approximately bad. But I’m still going to try to sell it because worst case no one wants it and I am reminded why I got an engineering degree. I keep telling myself that the actual reason I’m doing this is to prove to myself that I needed an engineering degree to live comfortably and that is why I didn’t go to school for art or literature. Even if I am awful at computer science, I think I can still make a decent living. And I’m not that awful anyways. I am very good at art and computers when you compare me with my dog.

So here is that fish painting. Let me know what you think. But make sure to put the bad stuff in between compliments so that my fragile ego will not be entirely destroyed.

Leave a Reply

