Prepping to Move

In a couple months I’m going to move into my first apartment that I’ll live in all by myself. I picked out the apartment, which is pretty exciting. The place is kind of garbage but I don’t care. There is a washer and dryer in the apartment and my guests are allowed to park in the parking lot. There is a pool and overall, its actually quite nice. I just think its not great because the hallway carpets smell like my grandma’s house and the floor plan is pretty strange. But these things are not important. I’m glad to know that I have somewhere to live once I go.

So far, I’m barely beginning to pack. I’m having trouble with the purging stage. Right now I have items from every phase of life, and there are many things that I don’t really want to get rid of, but I don’t want to take them with me either. Like my Darth Maul lightsaber – I have zero use for that, but also it makes a sound when you hit someone with it. My tiny apartment won’t accommodate those types of things. Still, I like knowing that once I manage to sort through all of these things, rather than having a ton of junk with a few nice things thrown in, I’m going to have just a few nice things.

I imagine my new apartment and I can’t wait to have my own separate rooms to put things in. My kitchen things will go in the kitchen, rather than in a bag, and I’ll have a trunk where I keep all of my outdoors gear. My baby Joshua Tree will continue to grow by the light of my living room window, and I’ll sit at the table beside it with my laptop, sipping tea from my Spiderman mug. Because adults can like Spiderman too.

Leave a Reply

