Glimpsing the Future

At the end of last week I had a visit to my future job office. That’s where I’ll start working in 3 months, and it’ll be my first job out of college. Visiting was great because I got to meet a bunch of my future-coworkers and learn a bit more about what will happen when my job starts.

Really the first 6 months are less of a job, and more of a paid learning experience. This whole time I’ve been dying to know what we will go over, and it looks like its gonna be cake for sure. It did give me a bit of a reminder that I’m going to be a software engineer after I’ve been hanging out doing not software things for months. Today I did a thing though. I finally worked on my resume website. I got the layout set up and everything, so now I just need to put the content in and make sure it looks good. So basically all of the hard parts. Still, it is nice to have it even partially done.

When I start “work” we will be learning things like fundamentals of computer science or whatever, because they are preparing us to all be on the same level – even the girl that majored in psychology. The whole thing should be a good time. We will work on cute things like HTML and CSS and everything will be in JavaScript so I guess I should look at how that works again. I won’t though. I will just google which one is double equals and which one is triple equals every time. I am a bit surprised to find we will use JavaScript though, as I could have sworn everyone hated it. But I’m grateful that the focus is on a single language so that unlike in my degree program I will never be told to do a project in a language that I’ve never even looked at.

It’s exciting to look ahead. The people I met were fantastic, and I’m excited to move into my own place!

Leave a Reply

