Zebra status!

Today I got a couple stripes on my white belt! Talk about a surprise!

I started doing jujitsu about four years ago, and then I started having issues with my shoulder. So I trained for a bit under a year, and then had to take time off. I got shoulder surgery and I ended up needing about 2.5 years off, because I am a slow healer or something. But I’ve been going to class again for a couple of months. I’m really surprised to get stripes because I don’t know a lot of things. I need a lot of work on sweeps and takedowns in particular. I’m still quite weak as well. Just the other day I was very proud of myself for being able to do pushups again (I only managed 8 pushups today, but I did 20 in a row recently).

After all of this time its nice to have gotten something, even if it is really just a couple pieces of tape. In a little over a month I’ll move away and have to start at another school, and its a little disappointing at this point. I’ve grown to really enjoy the people I’ve been training with, but I’m sure the next group will be great as well.

Leave a Reply

